13 FMU Student-Athletes named to Chi Alpha Sigma honor society

13 FMU Student-Athletes named to Chi Alpha Sigma honor society

Francis Marion University athletic officials recently announced the names of 13 Patriot student-athletes named to the university's chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, the National College Athlete Honor Society.

To earn a place in this honor society, a student-athlete must be at least a junior academically, have a 3.40 cumulative grade point average on a 4.00 scale, and have an endorsement from his or her respective head coach.  The nominees are then screened by a selection committee.

The 2017 inductees are baseball first baseman Tee DuBose (Sumter, SC) and left-handed pitcher Arien Seymour (Nassau, Bahamas); women's basketball player Brooke Dixon (Camden, SC); women's cross country and track and field athlete MacKenzie Arnold (Murrells Inlet, SC); and golfers Marc Casullo (Aurora, Ontario, Canada) and Lars Sandvoll (Bergen, Norway).

Also, men's soccer players Harrison Smith (Hartlepool, England) and Niklas Sundell (Enebyberg, Sweden); softball shortstop Taylor Johnson (San Diego, CA) and catcher Chelsea Welty (St. Helena, SC); and women's tennis players Samantha Koelliker (Vielbringen, Switzerland), Marie Krueger (Leverkusen, Germany), and Anna Wintrich (Wadern, Germany).

Thirteen current Patriot student-athletes were previously inducted: baseball pitcher Chance DuCharme (Kill Devil Hills, NC); men's cross country and track and field athletes Javier Bustos Jaimes (Eagle Springs, NC) and Devin Nelson (Bloomfield, CT); women's cross country and track and field athletes Nicole Edlmann (Summerville, SC) and Emmeline Wheeler (Troy, SC); golfer Alessandro Caselli (Vimercate, Italy); women's soccer players Kelly Anthony (Woodstock, GA), Melina Much (Valley Center, CA), and Tori Whigham (Ocean City, MD); softball outfielder Briana Barzola (West Linn, OR); men's tennis player Jannik Roettlingsberger (Marl, Germany); women's tennis player Sofia Henning (Gothenburg, Sweden); and volleyball middleblocker Caroline Boone (Roanoke, VA).

Chi Alpha Sigma was founded in May 1996 by DePauw University head football coach Nick Mourouzis.  The organization currently has 284 chapters in 42 states and the District of Columbia.  Francis Marion is one of only eight chapters in South Carolina, and FMU was the first school to have a chapter in the Palmetto State.

Over the past 17 years, 175 different FMU student-athletes have earned this honor.

Chi Alpha Sigma's purposes are: to encourage and reward high academic scholarship of college athletes at four-year accredited institutions; to recognize outstanding academic achievement by intercollegiate varsity letterwinners; to encourage good citizenship, moral character, and friendship among the high academic achievers in college athletics; to recognize and honor the individual athlete, his/her team, sport, athletic department, and college or university; and to mentor and to provide leadership to other athletes.